Angela & Ivy <3

blog2

This blog post is gunna be a long one, so grab a cup of coffee (or tea) and get ready to see some of my favorite images of the summer as we celebrate an awesome relationship between a girl and her canine friend! Angela’s gallery was huge and I just couldn’t narrow down which ones I wanted to share. So you get to see a decent chunk of what images I made that day 🙂

blog1

A little back story… when I first graduated from college, I immediately began work at Eastview Veterinary Clinic as a veterinary technician. It didn’t take long to develop favorite patients and the golden retrievers of Moonlit Meadows Golden Retrievers were always at the top of the list. Great dogs, fantastic temperament and built correctly. That’s when I first met Angela’s mom. Fast forward many years and an unexpected loss of our beloved female golden “Daisy,” we (my husband) thought it was time for another pup. I suggested Cheryl to him because I knew what great dogs they were and so soon after that we had bought a moonlit golden pup!

Cheryl had contacted me this past summer to inquire about a session for her daughter and I jumped on the change. Believe it or not it’s not often I get to photograph animals so I was excited to do this for her. We agreed to meet up at a beautiful state park on Keuka Lake and worked out way through the beautiful landscape starting on a canopied trail and ending on the beach at sunset. Such a beautiful evening and even more beautiful bond these two have.

blog3

I mean, look at the way Ivy looks at her human!

blog4

Ivyyyyyy! She was so easy to photograph. Just wave a treat in front of her face and she was all attention! hahaha. But seriously.

blog5

See what I mean? Treat. So focused.
Side note, I love how the direct sunlight lit up her coat in this shot.

blog7

blog6

This session couldn’t have been timed more perfectly. Starting up at the top of the park when the sun was still high in the sky was the best thing we did. There were some trees and a building blocking the sun so this open-shaded location was beautifully lit.

blog8

Love these two! The water reflected the sun perfectly and gave me some indirect sun flare.

blog9

blog10

blog11

 

 

blog14

Making our way to the area on the other side of that building we found some shade under a big tree – another perfect place for some shots. While Angela went to change wardrobe I kept Ivy with me and got some shots of just her fabulous self.

blog15

blog16

 

blog17

blog18

blog19

My primary style is definately ‘back-lit’ images but I do love playing with direct light too. The dramatic lighting and Angela’s serious face are killing me in this shot. (insert a favorite quote here): “When you photograph people in color, you photograph their clothes. But when you photograph people in Black and white, you photograph their souls” -Ted Grant.

blog13

Making our way through the park we stopped at this knoll for a couple of quick ones. Cheryl wanted to be sure I got some of her alone 🙂

blog12

But then Ivy wanted in on the shot too.

blog20

Oh yes. This was one of my favorite locations. I am such a sucker for yummy light and I spotted this paved pathway bathed in the beautiful warm sun and we had to go!

blog21

Yep.

blog22

And when your subjects rocked it… at the risk of sounding cliché, picture perfect!

blog23

blog24

blog25

blog27

blog26

blog28

From the very beginning of conversations, one thing that she really wanted to be included were some shots taken out in a field. There wasn’t much for fields down in the picnic area but I remembered a small field with trees in it coming down into the park. The sun was still too high for sunset photos so we had time and trekked up to the top to get some shots for Angela of her and Ivy in the field.

blog29

Besides it being full of prickers, it was perfect.

blog31

blog30

blog32

And now for that glorious sunset.

blog33

blog34

The photo above and below were taken within seconds of each other but were edited with two different end-products in mind. Both are equally beautiful in my eyes.

blog35

blog36

As the sun dipped behind the hilltop the soft light danced across the water and provided for some beautiful portraits.

blog37

blog38

blog39

blog40

blog41

blog43

blog42

Isn’t it crazy how much color and white balance can change just by moving from one side to the other? Love this image.

blog44

And I’m ending with one of Angela’s favorites. Whew! If you’re still here, thanks for sticking around till the end. This was such a fun evening for me, and I think together we were able to create some awesome images that she’ll be able to have forever. ❤

caryn

 

 

Leave a Reply

